Property taxes within Florida are based on a properties value. Florida law requires that the county property appraiser makes the assessment of values within that county. Florida has a constitutional provision (Save Our Home) which caps how much the assessed value of a homesteaded property may increase in a given year.
Taxes are assessed against a property's appraised value. Taxes may be applied by three different entities, the county the home is in, the municipality the home is in and the school district for the home. Each entity may apply taxes up to but not to exceed 10 mills against the appraised value. A mill is one one-thousandth of a dollar. Thus if the appraised value is $100,000 less any exemptions and the total taxes are 30 mills the taxes due will be $3,000.
This page is a pop-up instruction of the Home Buyers Guide on www.skybluerealestate.com. If a search engine brought you here click on the link to go to the Home Buyers Guide.
© Sky Blue Real Estate 2013